When Can You Get a Hardship Driver’s License After a DUI Revocation in Florida?
Feb. 3, 2022
If your driver's license has been revoked or suspended in the state of Florida, you may still be granted a hardship license to drive during this period of suspension. These licenses are available to allow for driving for limited purposes, such as work or school.
You can apply for this hardship license as soon as your license is suspended. There is no need to wait. However, in some situations there is a waiting period before you can apply for this hardship license.
1 year waiting period: You must wait one year to apply for a hardship license if your suspension was pursuant to Florida’s Habitual Traffic Offender statute.
2 year waiting period: You must wait two years to apply for a hardship license if you received a 5 or 10 year suspension for a DUI.
5 year waiting period: You must wait five years to apply for a hardship license if your license was permanently revoked.
When you apply for a hardship license, you must actually prove that the suspension of your license is creating a substantial hardship for you to earn a living or to receive medical care. Keep in mind, you must also show proof that you have completed the DUI course or Advanced Driver’s course. The hearing officer will expect letters of recommendations to show that you can be trusted to obey the restrictions on the hardship license.
Check out Florida Statute 322.271 for more information.